//
you're reading...
English : Grammar

Causative Forms

learn

  • Causative Form adalah suatu kalimat yang  mengandung arti bahwa suatu perbuatan bukan kita yang melakukan tetapi dilakukan orang lain.
  • Causative Form sering disebut dengan Causative have. Namun ada kata kerja lain dalam Causative Form selain to have ini yaitu : to get,   to make , dsb.
  • Perhatikan kasus berikut.

I had a new car. But, the car broke down. I couldn’t repair it by myself.

So,  I had my car repaired.

It means that I ask someone, possibly mechanic or others, to repair my car. (maksudnya, saya meminta seseorang memperbaiki motor saya —  bukan saya sendiri yang memperbaikinya).

Causative dapat dinyatakan dengan dua cara sebagai berikut:

  1. Passive Causative Form

Rumus : S  +  have/has / had  +  Object  +  Past Participle

                         

         Case

Causative form

My bike is broken. I have my bike repaired.
The clothes is dirty. I have the clothes washed.
His house is very muddy after flood He has the house cleaned.
My books are in a mess. I have the books arranged.
The tree in front of my aunt’s house is too big. She has the tree cut.

2.   Active Causative Form with verb ”have”

Rumus : S +  have / had +  Someone +  Verb 1 + Object

Catatan : HAVE, LET, MAKE gunakan Verb 1

Case

Causative form

My bike is broken. I will have the mechanic repair my bike.
The clothes is dirty I have the servant wash the clothes.
His house is very muddy He has my sister clean the house.
The book is in a mess She has my brother arrange the books.
The tree in front of my aunt’s house   was too big. She had my uncle cut. the tree.
There were a lot of food in the table My Mom had the guests eat the food.

3.       Active Causative Form with verb ”get”

Rumus : S +  get  / gets / got +  Someone +  to infinitive + Object

Catatan : GET, WANT, ORDER, PERMIT, ALLOW  gunakan TO INFINITIVE

The clothes is dirty. I get the servant to wash the clothes.
My house is very unclean. I allow my sister to clean my house.
The books are in a mess. He gets my brother to arrange my books.
The tree in front of my aunt’s house   was too big. She got my uncle to cut the tree.

For example :

Case :   My bike brokes down. I ask my brother (the mechanic) to repair  the bike.

    • I have/get my bike repaired.
    • I have the mechanic  repair my bike. (make, let)
    • He should have got the mechanic to repair my bike. (want, order, permit, allow)

Simak juga :

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

