//
you're reading...
English : Sekitar Bedah Ujian Nasional

Memahami SKL Listening : Giving advice and Opinions

advice

Dalam SKL Listening Part 2 : Question and Responses akan kita jumpai materi yang berkaitan dengan Giving Suggestion/Advice dan Giving Opinion. Materi ini semestinya telah anda pelajari dengan baik di kelas XI, untuk itu akan kita review kembali. Untuk itu, silahkan anda pelajari dengan baik ungkapan-ungkapan yang berkaitan dengan Giving Suggestion dan Openion berikut.

Giving Suggestion (Memberikan Saran)

Berikut beberapa language expression yang berkaitan dengan Giving Suggestion (memberikan saran)

 

Common Giving Suggestions Common answers
  • Shall we……Why don’t we……..
  • Perhaps we should…….
  • You could always………
  • Let’s…….
  • Why not ……
  • You may/might want to……
  • Maybe we should …….
  • What if you …….
  • Shouldn’t you…….
  • You should……
  • If I were you, I would …….

 

leave the message.(V -1)
  • Yes, let’s …..
  • That’s a good idea!
  • What a brilliant idea!
  • Why not?
  • Suit me, thanks.
  • Good idea
  • OK.
  • No, I haven’t yet

 

  • How about/What about
  • Have you ever thought of
  • Try
leaving  the message.( V-ing)

 For example :

A : I feel boring this weekend.  B : What about going to the movie?

A : I’m really exhausted with my work.  B : Why don’t you take a rest?

A : I make a bad mistake with my classmate.  B : You ought to apologize.

A : The day is raining all day long.  B : If were you, I would stay at home.

  • Expressing Opinions

Berikut beberapa ungkapan yang berkaitan dengan Expressing Opinions

Starting opinion

  • The reason why …
  • Because …

Personal Opinion

  • In my opinion, …
  • I personally believe …
  • I personally think …
  • Not everyone agree with me, but …
  • To my mind …
  • I don’t think I care for it.
  • I think it’s good/nice. terrific …
  • I think that…
  • What I have in my mind …
  • The way I see it is that ….

Continuing

  • Because of that …
  • That’s why …
  • That’s the reason why …
  • For this reason …
How something affects you

  • In my opinion….
  • From my point of view, ….
  • Well,  personally, …
  • If I had my way, ….
  • What I’m more concerned with is…
  • In my case …

Correcting Yourself

  • What I mean is …
  • What I mean was …
  • Let me put it another way,..
  • What I’m saying is
  • What I’m trying to say is …
  • If I said that, I didn’t mean  to …
  • Let me rephrase what I said….
  • Talking about Arguing

Arguing adalah ekspresi kalimat dalam bahasa Inggris untuk mendebat atau membantah pendapat orang lain. Pendapat tersebut juga dapat didebat lagi oleh lawan bicara kita yaitu dengan counter arguing. Berikut beberapa ungkapan yang berkaitan dengan Arguing :

Arguments and counter arguments

  • Yes, but …
  • That’s a good idea, but don’t forget …
  • That would be great, except …
  • That probably true, but …

Counter arguments

  • Even so, …  / Even if that is so, …
  • That may be so, but…
  • That probably true, but …
  • Possibly, but ….

Illustrating your Point

  • For example, .. / For instance, … / Take for example …
  • For one thing …
  • To give you an idea …
  • Look at the way …
  • By way of illustration ….

  Silahkan anda pelajari materi kalimat-kalimat fungsional di atas. Selamat belajar.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

